Hit enter after type your search item

Figilo Elected New FUO ANUPA Chairman


Ask ZiVA 728x90 Ads

July 08, (THEWILL) – Mr Douye Prosper Figilo has won the Chairmanship election of the Association of Nigerian University Professional Administrators (ANUPA), Federal University Otuoke Branch, to pilot the affairs of the Association for the next two years.

The election was held at the University Postgraduate studies conference Hall, under the supervision of the National Legal Officer of the Association, Barr. Isaac Adinya Alaben, who is a Deputy Registrar at Cross Rivers State University, Calabar, and observed by some senior officers of FUO including Mr Kenneth Soraindein, a former Registrar, Council Officer; Mrs Rita Agonodi; Mr Joseph Kalizibe, SSANU Chairman and Mr Johnny Godwin, NASU Chairman.

Declaring the results, the Election Chairman, Comrade Ewa Lucky Yaro, said the total registered votes were 289, and for the Chairmanship position, accredited votes were 126 and the total votes cast was 126.

He stated that Mr Douye Prosper Figilo scored 60 votes to defeat his closest contender, Mr Potency Owei, who polled 48 votes, while Mr Ogor Oyinkepreye, came a distant third with 16 votes.

Two votes received by Mr Tobi were declared invalid because he withdrew from the race before the commencement of the election.

For the Secretary position, Mr Ambrose Lawrence was declared the winner with 95 votes, against his opponent Mr Ude James Uchechuckwu, who scored 31 votes.

Those returned unopposed include Mrs Ouserigha Glory Efiemuya, Vice Chairman; Kingdom Ruth Bodisere, Assistant Secretary; Mr Ikogi Joseph, Treasurer; Mr Azibaowoni Christopher Igelege, Financial Secretary; Mr Samuel Oru, Public Relations Officer, while Mrs Oluwasheyi Inebio John is to serve as Training Officer.

Earlier in his opening remarks, a representative of the National Chairman, Barr. Isaac Adinya Alaben, charged ANUPA members to conduct themselves in an orderly manner according to the guidelines of the Association as professional administrators.

He commended the outgoing Chairman and his Executive for piloting the affairs of ANUPA effectively for the past years and for conducting a peaceful, transparent and credible election.

He described the process as the most peaceful and rancour-free election he has supervised in recent times and advised ANUPA members to maintain the existing peace in the FUO branch.

He administered the oath of office and allegiance to the newly elected members, assisted by the outgone chairman, Dr Jerry Bisong Tawo.

Barr. Isaac Adinya informed that those eligible to vie for the Chairmanship position, henceforth, will be from Principal Assistant Registrar and above, stressing that he overlooked the rules due to the failure of senior officers to contest the election.

In his acceptance speech on behalf of the newly elected executives, the Chairman, Mr Douye Prosper Figilo, promised to serve with the consciousness of a public officer to move the association forward.

He said he will consult widely with members to organise training programmes, in order to build the capacity of administrators for enhanced service delivery.

Speaking to journalists shortly after the declaration of results, the Chairman of the Election Committee, Mr Ewa Lucky Yaro, attributed the success of the election to adequate preparation and support from the outgone Chairman, Dr Jerry Bisong Tawo and members.

He commended ANUPA members for their peaceful conduct during and after the election.
Also Speaking, the outgone Chairman, Dr Jerry Bisong Tawo, said he feels fulfilled to have organised a seamless and smooth transition to another leadership.

He advised the new executives to uphold the ideals and dignity of ANUPA.

The outgone Chairman thanked the National Legal Officer, Senior Officers of the University, and Union Leaders for finding time to participate in the election.

Mr Kenneth Sorandein, while giving the vote of thanks, commended members for their peaceful disposition and lauded the national officer for coming to conduct the election.

He advised the newly elected Chairman and the exco to work as a team and organise regular training programmes to acquaint Administrative Staff with modern trends in University Administration.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar